Minister Harris announces €23.47m in funding for Technological Universities

Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science Simon Harris TD has today announced €23.47 million in funding for the five Technological Universities.

The funding will be used in key areas such as digital infrastructure, building capacity in research, and in improving governance and systems integration.


Speaking today, Minister Harris said: “Over the past year Atlantic Technological University and South East Technological University have been established and are taking their place at the heart of our higher education landscape.


“This funding is part of the Transformation Funding, which has seen €60 million already invested in making our TUs a reality. The funding today will help build on that important work and ensure TUs have the capacity to grow.”


CEO of the Higher Education Authority, Dr. Alan Wall, together with the Chair and Board of the HEA, also welcomed the recent expansion of the sector and the support of higher education institutions through the Technological University Transformation Fund.


Dr Wall said: “The successful establishment of five TUs attests to the transformational development of the technological sector and the positive impact of the TUTF.


“The HEA supports Technological Universities and the ongoing reform of the higher education landscape, recognising the role of TUs at a regional level and in making significant contributions to national objectives and internationally.”


The funds will be allocated as below:


  • ATU will receive €5.27 million
  • MTU – €3.45 million
  • SETU – €5.25 million
  • TU Dublin – €5 million
  • TUS – €4.5 million


In addition to the allocations announced today, the HEA is continuing to engage with DkIT and IADT to understand and support their continuing development within the technological sector.


DkIT has made significant progress on its three-year developmental pathway with the support of a special advisor appointed by the HEA, and IADT is continuing to explore its options under the TU Act, 2018.