Minister Harris announces appointment of new Ireland Co-Chair to the US-Ireland R&D Partnership Steering Group

Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science Simon Harris TD has today (16/06/2022) announced the appointment of Professor Mark Ferguson as the new Ireland Co-Chair to the US-Ireland R&D Partnership Steering Group.

The US-Ireland R&D Partnership was established in 2006 and is based on the principles of the Good Friday Agreement.

Speaking today, Minister Harris said: “Following a recruitment and assessment process which attracted a number of highly qualified candidates, it was my great pleasure to consider the appointment of the Ireland co-chair.

“I am delighted that Professor Mark Ferguson has accepted this appointment as Ireland Co-Chair to the US-Ireland R&D Partnership Steering Group. I am sure that Mark’s vast experience and leadership within the research and innovation communities in all three jurisdictions of the Partnership will enable him to make an extremely valuable contribution to its goals over the next four years.

“I would also like to take the opportunity to acknowledge the fine contribution and commitment made by the previous Ireland Co-Chair, Mr Feargal Ó Móráin during his tenure. During that time, the Partnership expanded its scope to include the new thematic areas of agriculture and cybersecurity, as well as further developing the existing areas.

“The US-Ireland R&D Partnership provides great opportunities for Irish researchers to develop and build on funded collaborations with partners in the US and in Northern Ireland. It is more important than ever that we continue to forge global strategic relationships that are based on complementary priorities and values.”

The Steering Group includes representatives of the three jurisdictions, guides collaborative efforts under the Partnership and reflecting the partnership ethos, and has a co-chair from each of the three jurisdictions.

It involves the governments of the United States of America, Ireland and Northern Ireland working together to advance scientific progress by awarding grants for research on a competitive basis in the thematic areas of Telecommunications, Energy, Health, Agriculture and Cybersecurity.