Excellence in Local Government Awards 2015

REMINDER: The deadline for applications to this year’s Excellence in Local Government Awards is 12 noon Thursday 30th April.


Applications are now being invited for Chambers Ireland’s Excellence in Local Government Awards 2015 in association with the Department of Environment, Community and Local Government. Now in their twelfth year, the awards acknowledge and encourage best practice and innovative initiatives by Local Authorities. Chambers Ireland believes that that recognising and raising awareness of the hard work of Local Authorities is vital.


The 2015 Award categories are:


  • Supporting Active Communities
  • Best Practice in Citizen Engagement
  • Health & Wellbeing
  • Supporting Tourism
  • Promoting Economic Development
  • Local Authority Innovation
  • Sustainable Environment
  • Smarter Travel
  • Best Library Service
  • Sustaining the Arts
  • Joint Local Authority Initiative
  • Festival of the Year
  • Parks and Recreation
  • Outstanding Customer Service
  • Enhancing the Urban Environment
  • Heritage and Built Environment


In addition, there will be an overall award for Local Authority of the Year which will be decided by the judges and every Local Authority that applies for any category above is eligible for this award. There is a two round judging process completed by independent judging panels to ensure every application gets the time and attention it deserves.


An overview document and application forms are available to download from http://www.chambers.ie/events/excellence-in-local-government-awards/. Previous winners and shortlisted projects are also available to view on our website.


The closing date for receipt of applications to Chambers Ireland is 12pm Thursday 30th April 2015. Completed application forms should be sent to amy.woods@chambers.ie.